Readers ask: What Is Woreda Wereda In Ethiopia?

What Woreda means?

Filters. An administrative division of Ethiopia, managed by a local government. noun. 0.

How many zones and Woreda are there in Ethiopia?

The regions of Ethiopia are administratively divided into 68 or more zones (Amharic: ዞን, zonə).

How many Woreda are there in Addis Ababa?

The project interviewed officials from all 118 woredas in Addis Ababa, including to the 28 woredas from the SEDRI sampling frame used for the individual and firms. This survey represents the first full census of woreda administrators in the city.

How many Woreda are there in Hadiya zone?

Hadiya Zone is one of the 14 zones in the Southern Nations and Nationalities Regional State of Ethiopia. The zone is administratively divided in to 11 woredas (districts) and 324 kebeles (the smallest administrative unit) and has a population of 1,451,305 about 50% being females.

Which region is rich in Ethiopia?

According to the Ethiopian government portal, the Amhara Highlands receive 80% of the total rainfall of Ethiopia and is the most fertile and hospitable region of Ethiopia. The Amhara region is the location of Lake Tana, the source of the Blue Nile, at Bahir Dar.

You might be interested:  Quick Answer: What To Pack For Ethiopia?

How is Ethiopia divided?

Ethiopia is administratively divided into regional states and chartered cities, zones, woreda (districts) and kebele (wards).

Does Ethiopia use zip code?

This is the Ethiopia Post Code page. Detail Postcode.

Administration/Region Addis Ababa
Zone Addis Ababa Zone 1
Locality, Sub-locality, Area Addis Ababa
Postal Code 1000


How many Woreda are there in Ethiopia?

There are about 670 rural woreda and about 100 urban woreda.

How many states are there in Ethiopia?

There are currently ten regional states and two chartered cities, the latter being the country’s capital Addis Ababa, and Dire Dawa, which was chartered in 2004. Regions of Ethiopia.

Regions and chartered cities of Ethiopia
Location Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
Created 1992
Number 10 regions, 2 chartered cities (as of 2020)

What is the largest Subcity in Addis Ababa?


Nr Subcity Area (km2)
1 Addis Ketema 7.41
2 Akaky Kaliti 118.08
3 Arada 9.91
4 Bole 122.08

Is Ethiopia in West Africa?

Northern Africa countries (7) – Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia, and Western Sahara. East African countries (19) – Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Réunion, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Somaliland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Where is Addis Ababa Zone 2?

Addis Ababa Zone 2 is a second-order administrative division and is located in Ādīs Ābeba, Ethiopia. The estimate terrain elevation above seal level is 2306 metres.

What is the median age in Ethiopia?

The median age in Ethiopia is 19.5 years.

What is the population of gurage?

Demographics. Based on the 2011 Census conducted by the Central Statistical Agency of Ethiopia (CSA), Gurage has a total population of 3 million with an area of 50,023 square kilometre.

Related posts

Leave a Comment