Readers ask: How Many Administrative Zones In Ethiopia?

How many woredas are there in Ethiopia?

There are about 670 rural woreda and about 100 urban woreda.

How many zones are there in Addis Ababa?

(See Regions of Ethiopia for more details.) It shows Ethiopia divided into eleven regions, which are subdivided into 63 zones, which are further subdivided into 529 wereda. Zones of Ethiopia.

Zone Addis Ababa Zone 3
Population 547,390
Area(km.²) 222


How many autonomous regions are in Ethiopia?

As a result, twenty-five administrative regions and five autonomous regions were created (see fig.

What are the 9 regions of Ethiopia?

Context in source publication are nine administrative nine regions as indicated in figure 1. These regions are Afar, Amhara, Benshangul-Gumuz, Gambella, Harari, Oromia, Somali, Tigray and the Southern Nations, Nationalities and Peoples Region (SNNPR) and two administrative councils (Addis Ababa and Dire Dawa).

Which is the largest region in Ethiopia?

The 2011 census reported the population of Oromia as 35,000,000; this makes it the largest regional state in population. It is also the largest regional state covering 286,612 square kilometers. Oromia.

You might be interested:  Often asked: Which Famous Biblical Treasure Is Believed To Be Hidden And Guarded In The Nation Of Ethiopia Today?
Oromia Oromiyaa
Map of Ethiopia showing Oromia
Country Ethiopia
Official language Oromo
Capital Addis Ababa


Which region is rich in Ethiopia?

According to the Ethiopian government portal, the Amhara Highlands receive 80% of the total rainfall of Ethiopia and is the most fertile and hospitable region of Ethiopia. The Amhara region is the location of Lake Tana, the source of the Blue Nile, at Bahir Dar.

Where is Addis Ababa Zone 2?

Addis Ababa Zone 2 is a second-order administrative division and is located in Ādīs Ābeba, Ethiopia. The estimate terrain elevation above seal level is 2306 metres.

Who Divided Ethiopia?

Ethiopia was divided into 12 provinces (taklai ghizat) by Imperial Ethiopian Government Decree No. 1 of 1942 and later amendments.

How is Ethiopia divided up?

Ethiopia is administratively divided into regional states and chartered cities, zones, woreda (districts) and kebele (wards).

What is the smallest region in Ethiopia?

Harari Regional State lies in eastern Ethiopia, surrounded by Oromia region. It is the smallest regional state in Ethiopia, both in land mass and population.

How many regions are in Ethiopia?

Regions of Ethiopia

Regions and chartered cities of Ethiopia
Category Federation
Location Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
Created 1992
Number 10 regions, 2 chartered cities (as of 2020)

What are the names of regions?

While there are some official government regions, such as those used by the U.S. Census Bureau and the Standard Federal Regions, most people use five major regions when dividing up the states. They are the Northeast, Southeast, Midwest, Southwest, and West.

You might be interested:  Readers ask: How Infrastructure Is Funded In Ethiopia?

Which city is the most beautiful in Ethiopia?

Situated on the outskirts of the famous Lake Tana, 600km north of Addis Ababa, Bahir Dar is the third largest and arguably the most beautiful city in Ethiopia.

Is Addis Ababa a state?

Addis Ababa, also spelled Addis Abeba, capital and largest city of Ethiopia. It is located on a well-watered plateau surrounded by hills and mountains, in the geographic centre of the country. Only since the late 19th century has Addis Ababa been the capital of the Ethiopian state.

How many towns are in Ethiopia?

Ethiopia has 1 cities with more than a million people, 9 cities with between 100,000 and 1 million people, and 84 cities with between 10,000 and 100,000 people. The largest city in Ethiopia is Addis Ababa, with a population of 2,757,729 people.

Related posts

Leave a Comment