Quick Answer: How Many Seats House Of Federation In Ethiopia?

What are the two Federal Houses?

Federal Parliament is made up of the House of Representatives, which is sometimes called ‘the lower house ‘, and the Senate, or ‘upper house ‘.

How many federal states are there in Ethiopia?

Ethiopia is divided into 10 ethno-linguistically based regional states and 2 chartered cities. The states are: Afar; Amhara, Benishangul/Gumaz; Gambela; Harari; Oromia; Somali; Southern Nations, Nationalities, and Peoples Region; Tigray; Sidama.

What is function of House of Federation?

The House of the Federation fixes the electoral constituencies on the basis of the results of the national census which is done every 10 years; a proposal is submitted to the House by the national electoral committee.

Why the power to interpret the Constitution is given to House of Federation in Ethiopia?

The power to interpret the Ethiopian Constitution is vested in the House of Federation (HoF). It is argued that the Ethiopian judiciary is constitutionally excluded from invalidating legislative and executive action or inaction that contravenes the Constitution.

You might be interested:  What Ancient Countries Make Up Ethiopia?

What is the lower house called?

The House of Representatives is referred to as the lower house of the United States Congress, because it has more Members than the Senate.

Do we need two Houses of Parliament?

Necessity of Two Houses: Rajya Sabha reflects a federal character by representing the units of the Union. While, Lok Sabha represents spirit of people. 2. Both Houses plays positive role in matters of Legislations.

What is the richest region in Ethiopia?

Tigray is one of the richest areas in Ethiopia in mineral resources.

Which region is largest in Ethiopia?

The 2011 census reported the population of Oromia as 35,000,000; this makes it the largest regional state in population. It is also the largest regional state covering 286,612 square kilometers. Oromia.

Oromia Oromiyaa
Map of Ethiopia showing Oromia
Country Ethiopia
Official language Oromo
Capital Addis Ababa


Is Addis Ababa a state?

Addis Ababa, also spelled Addis Abeba, capital and largest city of Ethiopia. It is located on a well-watered plateau surrounded by hills and mountains, in the geographic centre of the country. Only since the late 19th century has Addis Ababa been the capital of the Ethiopian state.

What is HPR in Ethiopia?

The House of Peoples’ Representatives (Amharic: የሕዝብ ተወካዮች ምክር ቤት, yehizb tewekayoch mekir bet) is the lower chamber of the Ethiopian Federal Parliamentary Assembly, the legislative body of the country. Located in the capital Addis Ababa, the House has 547 members.

Who has the power to interpret the constitution and the powers of different levels of government?

5 Courts have the power to interpret the constitution and the powers of different levels of government. The highest court acts as an umpire if disputes arise between different levels of government in the exercise of their respective powers.

You might be interested:  Quick Answer: What Part Of Ethiopia Is In War On A Map?

Is the court allowed to interpret the Constitution?

As the final arbiter of the law, the Court is charged with ensuring the American people the promise of equal justice under law and, thereby, also functions as guardian and interpreter of the Constitution. The Supreme Court is “distinctly American in concept and function,” as Chief Justice Charles Evans Hughes observed.

Who interprets the constitution in Ethiopia?

Abstract: “The Ethiopian Constitution, in a ‘creative stroke’, provides the power to ” interpret” the Constitution to the House of Federation (the House), which is referred to by some writers as the “Upper House” or “Second Chamber” of the bicameral parliament.

Related posts

Leave a Comment